Earlier Congress won twice and BJP won once in North

Out of the last three elections in Belgaum North Assembly Constituency, the Congress had dominated the constituency in the first two elections while the Bharatiya Janata Party captured the constituency in the last i.e. 2018 elections.

Below is a picture of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly election results held in the previous years 2008, 2013 and 2018 in Belgaum North Constituency. For the first time in this constituency, a total of 14 candidates were in the fray for the assembly elections in 2008.

61.79 percent voters exercised their right to vote in the said election. The official candidate of the Indian National Congress, Feroz  Saith, won the election by securing 33.93 percent of the votes. He defeated his nearest rival Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Shankar Gowda Patil by a margin of 3.05 percent. Shankar Gowda Patil got less than 30.88 percent votes compared to Saith.Bgm north

Then in the 2013 assembly elections, there were 15 candidates in the electoral fray in the North constituency. This time also Congress candidate Feroz  Saith won. He won the election with a maximum of 39.16 per cent votes out of the 49.41 per cent polled, giving the Congress a second consecutive majority in the constituency. This time, Feroz  Saith lost to his nearest rival independent (M. A. Samiti) candidate Renu Killekar by a margin of 15.8 percent. Killekar got 23.36 votes for the second time in a row.

A total of 16 candidates were in the fray for the 2018 North Constituency elections. The voter turnout was 62.71 percent in this election and the voters gave a jolt to the Congress by voting in favor of the Bharatiya Janata Party. BJP youth leader Adv. Anil Benke won the election by securing 53.63 percent votes.

He defeated arch rival  Saith of Congress by a margin of 11.72 percent. Saith got 41.91 percent votes in this election and broke his dream of winning the ‘hat trick’ by winning this constituency for the third time in a row.

Font Awesome Icons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *