Important meeting at the Collector’s office regarding voter lists

Belgaum election 2023
Belgaum election 2023

The voter lists of 18 assembly constituencies in Belgaum district have been published so far and if there are any defects in the said voter lists, or if there is any information to be provided regarding the voter lists, to cooperate in the revision of the voter lists, Additional Chief Inspector of Village Development and Panchayat Raj Department and District Voter List Supervisor L. K. Atiq did to political parties. A meeting of the representatives of the recognized and registered political parties was called today in the hall of the Collectorate regarding voter lists, he was speaking from the chair of the meeting.

A special brief revision of voter lists is being done as per the guidelines of the Election Commission. The voter list of the primary phase has been published and if there are any defects in this regard, claims and objections will be accepted on December 8. Atiq informed that the final voter list will be announced on January 1, 2023.

He instructed the sub-divisional officers and tehsildars to create public awareness about inclusion of voters’ names in all the colleges of the district. In addition, instructions were also given to the District Collector and Supervisor of Electoral Rolls to write letters to the colleges to include the names of the eligible voters in the college.

There are a total of 4434 polling booths in 18 assembly constituencies of the district. Out of these, 3255 polling stations are in urban areas and 1179 polling stations are in rural areas. DC Shri  Nitesh Patil said that the preliminary form of voter list was published on November 9 and the claims and objections for the special brief revision of the voter list are being accepted during the period from November 9 to December 8. The Collector clarified that there are 37,88,266 voters in this list including 19,16,797 males and 18,71,348 females and 121 others. Political parties should also contribute in the process of improving the voter list by appointing booth-wise agents, work will have to be done to include voters in the age group of 18 to 19 in the voter list. Collector Nitesh Patil suggested that a special campaign should be conducted to accelerate this.

After the meeting of representatives of political parties, all the booth level officers should conduct house to house survey and work properly with the aim of revising the voter list. There should be no errors in the voter list, senior officials should take necessary steps to conduct door-to-door surveys, preference should be given to adding the names of disabled voters, suggested Electoral Roll Supervisor .

Zilla Panchayat Chief Executive Officer   Shri Darshan, and A.C Shri  Ashok Dudgunti along with Sub Divisional Officer, Tehsildar were present in this meeting.

Font Awesome Icons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *